Casting The Hard Way: Part Deux

Kate: “Your trouble is that you’re always wishing for something you haven’t got.”
Lucy: “What else am I supposed to wish for?”

Alia Shawkat

I was sick yesterday and spent the day on the couch re-watching Arrested Development, which is what I watch when I’m sick or bored or depressed. I was also indulging my fantasy-world-where-I-have-a movie/TV-deal … for The Hard Way. Alia Shawkat is so Lucy. She’d have to gain some weight. But even if she didn’t, she’s perfect. Yeah. So, if you know her, would you send her my novel so we can get this rolling?

And Judy Greer is Nancy:

Judy Greer

And Ben is James Franco:

James Franco

Just in case you were wondering how I picture them. People ask.
website stats

10 Comments

  1. Consigliari said,

    April 12, 2010 at 8:22 am

    YEAH! Thanks for the author view. Let the games begin! I loved, loved Alia as Maeby Funke, but Lucy seems more sexy zaftig than Alia. Judy Greer and James Franco seem to me a bit too pretty to be Nancy and Ben. Of course they sell tickets, but your book has a life of its own, and I must guard the artisitic integrity unless it prevents you from cashing in. Nancy and Ben need to visually imperfect to account for their over-competitive/self absorbed and overcompensating behaviors respectively. Okay. Its your book. I am not even the director, producer or casting agent (yet), but if they were perfect out of the box you cannot play the casting game. Will get back to you with pictures of my cast for your book. xoxox

    • julieluongo said,

      April 12, 2010 at 11:44 am

      Wait, I don’t think the logic is sound here. Exceedingly attractive people are over-competitive, self-absorbed, and overcompensating. More than average looking people, in my experience.

  2. julieluongo said,

    April 12, 2010 at 8:42 am

    Is anyone in Hollywood visually imperfect?

  3. Consigliari said,

    April 12, 2010 at 8:53 am

    Steve Buscemi: game. set. match.

  4. Consigliari said,

    April 12, 2010 at 9:12 am

    You cannot define your way out of it by saying actors with character are mere character actors. There is a movie where Buscemi is a lead. I think, but how about about Robert Deniro, Joe Pesce, Cathy Bates, Philip Seymore Hoffman.

    Here you go: Oscar Nomination or win for a leading role and not pretty – Geoffrey Rush, Sean Penn, Bill Murray, Mickey Rourke. Males singles: game. set. match.

    Oscar for a leading lady: (harder given the double standard) but how about Felicity Huffman (Transamerica), Stockard Channing, Glenn Close, Sigourney Weaver always looks strange. Even Charlise Theron in Monster. I have to be able to count pretties they make ugly. Women singles: Set point, Ad-in.

  5. julieluongo said,

    April 12, 2010 at 9:16 am

    All women can be made-up and decorated to look strange.

    Mickey Rourke used to be attractive.

  6. Nicholas said,

    April 12, 2010 at 9:46 am

    Absolutely. Franco was fairly grizzled in Pineapple. I’m not going to press the net about your nit-picking here. Better I take your tepid rejoinder as license to come up with an alternative cast for you to critique!

  7. Nicholas said,

    April 12, 2010 at 9:48 am

    and Mickey may have been pretty, but he makes Nick Nolte and Garey Busey look GQ now. I’m sure Jobba the Hutt was cute as a pollywog too.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

