Craigslist Picks. (Warning: Arty and Not So Arty Nudity)

“Develop an interest in life as you see it; the people, things, literature, music-the world is so rich, simply throbbing with rich treasures, beautiful souls and interesting people. Forget yourself.” ~Henry Miller

Airbrush Picture $20

I got a fantastic pullout loveseat for my office for $20 off of Craigslist and I think I’ve been enjoying it as much as some people enjoy a new car. Really. I tell everyone. I got such a great deal. It’s so comfortable. And it’s loaded – new covers, fluffy pillows, twin bed under the hood. It’s a sweet little loveseat.

Forget the sweat and frustration of trying to get it into my office. And the eventual dismantling of my door frame. That’s all over. And now I’m sitting comfortably while knowing I can give a friend a lumpy, tilting bed for a night or two. Probably just one. I’m pretty sure one night on this thing would be enough to send anyone to a hotel or to our sofa, sofa bed, or the click-clack.We have more guest crashing areas than we have guests.

On to the point though … Craigslist rules. It’s perfect for the armchair yardsaler that I am. Yeah, I like pre-owned junk. Other people’s stuff is so great. Here are a few postings I especially loved:

The Noid?

A full sized Noid cut out? How big is full sized? As big as a human? And wow, how much do I not want that creepy pizza marketing mascot from the 90s (correct me if I’m wrong) named Noid because it rhymes with Avoid?

Speaking of life-sized things I want to avoid, here’s a 6ft tall old man waiter:

Plastic towel, anyone?

It sells for $550 online, so the person who bought this for $1000 originally got ripped off. If you’re wondering if the waiter is ethnic, here’s a closer look:

Yep. The stereotypical old-but-not-ethnic waiter. Speaking of debatable ethnicity (click image to enlarge):

Nude? Yes. Classic? Um...

Asian nudes? Really? I can’t see the one on the left very well, but the one on the right has a very Native Indian look. And classic Nudes? Is that really what you want to go with as your ad line? Here’s are some classical nudes:

Raphael's The Three Graces

This posting describes her as Hot! That’s valid, I suppose. But Asian? I’m still not sure.

She can be whatever ethnicity you want for $150

Dick Hallorann might have liked this painting. Too bad he and Scatman Cruthers are dead.

From The Shining

website stats

10 Comments

  1. jjt said,

    April 6, 2010 at 8:06 am

    The Asian woman looks like an Elf. The only thing hotter than Asian Nudes is Elven Nudes. That baby is going right over the fireplace…

  2. julieluongo said,

    April 6, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    Nice. And you can speak Elvish to your woman by the fire as you estee lin dol.

  3. julieluongo said,

    April 6, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    BTW: I want the drunk woman in the top pic slinging the bottle of Jack. Very classic.

    • jjt said,

      April 6, 2010 at 7:18 pm

      You say classic, I say classy, but I don’t want to get into a battle over semantics…

      • julieluongo said,

        April 6, 2010 at 7:32 pm

        Well, I’d fold to your argument pretty quickly. I was just riffing on the Craigslist post wording. But I mean classy.

  4. DrownCalifornia said,

    May 8, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    I’ve been looking for more info on those paintings in Dick Hallorann’s room in The Shining. Do you know who the artist is? I noticed there was a second similar painting in the movie too so was it a series of paintings by the same artist or is there a category for these specific types of paintings and if so do you know what it’s called? I know you may have only put that picture up as a joke in your post but I think that painting is amazing and reflects a certin time period and culture that I am interested in.

    • Anonymous said,

      July 18, 2013 at 10:45 am

      Azazi Johari

      • Anonymous said,

        July 18, 2013 at 10:46 am

        Azizi* Sorry haha

  5. julieluongo said,

    May 10, 2010 at 11:43 am

    Yeah, I don’t know who the artist is. But I’ll let you know if I stumble upon anything. It seems like a search of the Quentin Tarantino universe (a la Grindhouse or Jackie Brown) would yield results. I’m just grasping at straws.

    • Ben Zifkin said,

      October 31, 2012 at 10:39 pm

      Do you know where I could get that painting it’s great.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

